Photos of the Street & Smith building, including a new one found today

I was doing some research today and found some interesting photos of the Street & Smith offices that were taken around 1906. Some of these photos are going to be familiar to some of you – they have been reprinted many times, such as in the FICTION FACTORY book  published in 1955, that was the 100th anniversary commemorative book for the company. But today, I found at least one that I had never seen before.

These photos were taken after the company built their “new” office building at 79 7th Avenue in 1905. Most of these were publicity photos, in which everything is neat and clean and organized, with every piece of paper in its place.

Exterior of building

Street and Smith exterior

reception room

S and S reception room

book department

book department 1

typesetters

typesetters

printing room

flatbed press

paper room

paper room

general offices

general office 1

freight bay

freight elevator

bindery

bindery

Here are the one that I found today on the Museum of the City of New York website. The website just identified this as “office workers.” As you can see, it’s a little different than the stages ones above.

MNY11790

This photo, however, is more in line with what I’ve read about the Street & Smith offices: that they were packed to the brim with books, manuscripts, files, rolls of paper, and anything else that the co-owner, Ormond Smith, refused to throw away since before the turn of the century.

Here’s another photo of the exterior I found today. It seems more realistic than the one taken above.

.MNY23896

5 thoughts on “Photos of the Street & Smith building, including a new one found today

  1. I find it interesting how much in some of these photos that Lancaster Press still looked when I started in the printing trade in 1963. The Linotypes in the typesetting picture are exactly like the ones still in use in 1963 (and were until we went to cold type around 1975). It is interesting how the men dressed for work back then. In fact I just did the math on a memory I just had of a man that was 70 when I started working there and he worked in the composing room. The Press as we referred to it did not have a mandatory retirement age back then and more that a few old timers were still there. He told me he had begun working there at the age of 15 so that would have been 1908. He always came to work wearing a white dress shirt which at the time I thought strange.

    Like

  2. Looking at these photos showing the printing presses reminded about how I took a course called Print Shop for a couple years in high school(1958-1960). We did all the print work for the high school running off the pages on hand operated print presses and also automatic machines. I worked a couple years before attending college and it’s a puzzle to me why I did not get a job in the printing industry. I was already trained and the print shop teacher said he could get me a job but I said no thanks.

    Even then, all I could think about was collecting books and fiction magazines.

    Like

  3. I worked in printing for a number of years, both paper and labels. What’s interesting to me in all these photos is that everything was done in house–editing, printing, shipping, and office. Great pix, Laurie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

